Atta Ikede

May 16, 2008

Japan

Filed under: Uncategorized — attaikede @ 10:50 pm

It’s really hot here and I can’t sleep. There’s some kind of heat wave going on here. There’s a drought too, and some people aren’t allowed to water their lawns and I think Los Angeles is starting to recycle water out of sewage because they’re so desperate.

A friend and I have a weekly ritual to play online games on skype on Friday nights.  Yup, I actively reschedule other plans every week so i can come home and play online puzzle games on Fridays with a friend in Ontario! If I win most of the games, I always feel exhausted afterwards and go to bed immmediately cuz my brainpower is so severely depleted. If I lose most of the games I usually just feel twitchy afterwards and go to bed to agonize about all the stupid moves I made.

Anyway, I lost today and it was too hot to sleep. My china post reminded me about Japan so I thought i’d mention that.

I can’t remember if I mentioned anything about my Japan trip? It was ok. The overwhelming memory I have from Japan is one of silence. I’d probably be more chatty if I was alone in a forest than I was in Japan. The thing is, if you’re alone in a forest it’s ok to talk to yourself. But when you’re in Japan, and don’t speak Japanese, that’s it. You have to be silent because the people around you would think you were crazy if you talked to yourself.

English is not commonly spoken in Japan, at least in the places I went (tokyo, kyoto). I could understand a bit of japanese cuz i’d read a language primer and had learned some words from watching anime, but the vast majority of everything that was going on there just went in one ear and out the other. no clue. My entire trip there basically boiled down to silently going through various polite rituals involving smiling and bowing, and speaking occasionally only to mumble polite japanese phrases like excuse me and thank you, and i understand. since my friend and I were both sick at different times, we ended up spending a lot of time on our own and so that made the trip seem even more silent!

Anyway, I went to Japan town last week to check it out. It’s small .. just a block or two, and most of the stores are inside a mall. I wasn’t expecting it to be that great so I was really surprised when it turned out to be authentically Japanese! There were lots of typical japanese stores and most of the people in the mall looked typically japanese too! In fact, the whole vibe was so authentically japanese that I must have gone into my Japanese silent/polite mode cuz after browsing in the mall for half an hour and buying a few snacks, I started walking home and suddenly realized that I hadn’t spoken a single word since going into the mall … not even to reply to the cashier in the store when he spoke to me in English! Then I suddenly remembered bowing to the cashier in the store!

2 Comments »

  1. I found the brand of mochi you told me about the other day in this chinese supermarket. I got the box of 21 mini ones just to try them out. They were pretty good – except I think they would be better if the outside was thicker. Have you had the bigger ones? I was wondering if the bigger ones would have a thicker shell. But otherwise it was nice and chewy like the brand that I got before. And the green tea ice cream was yummy too.

    Comment by rabbitdownunder — May 21, 2008 @ 5:16 am

  2. i tried the 21 mini ones the other day. Yup, the ones that come in a tray of 9 are the optimal size, at least in my opinion. The really huge ones that come in a tray of 2 or 4 always have too much ice cream.

    Comment by attaikede — June 6, 2008 @ 2:56 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

