Atta Ikede

July 1, 2008

Wind and Shopping

Filed under: San Francisco — attaikede @ 7:54 pm

I’m on episode 13 of season 4 of 24. I’ve already watched this season. Twice. But guess what.. the third around time is just as exciting as the first! So exciting that i watched 13 episodes in 2 days.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand: Wind

One annoying thing about San Francisco is the wind. It’s windy all the time! Windy where i work, windy where i live, windy where i shop. Sometimes when i look outside my apartment and see the trees shaking about, i conclude i’d rather stay indoors than go out and deal with that. I bought a tank top today after work and it was so windy downtown that it almost flew out of the bag when i was crossing a street!

I went on a road trip last weekend to check out the Altamont Wind farm. I first saw the wind farm last week when a coworker and I had to drive out to stockton. That was my first trip out east. Ok, so it was only 90 miles, but still! I’d never been past downtown oakland before! The wind farm is amazing. Thousands and thousands of windmills in rows along the crests of hills on both sides of the highway. See photos here and here (scroll down) and here and here. The first link, to flickr, is an accurate photo of what the view was like when I went there the first time on the drive to stockton. I went back on the weekend to explore the area a bit more and take photos. I had a great time. I took photos of the oakland dock, explored oakland a bit (it’s like buffalo. don’t go there.) and drove around some suburbs outside of oakland.

In other news, i’ve become addicted to shopping!!! I’m helpless. I’m hoping that writing about this shameful fact will be cathartic. I believe this addiction happened for two reasons: (1) Things are cheap in america and (2) my take home pay is a little more than it used to be. Things really are cheaper here! I remember going into a store like say, Banana Republic in Canada and leaving shortly because even the silliest tank tops were almost $60! Crazy! Store for store things are definitely cheaper here plus there are sooo many other stores to check out that it’s mind boggling! It’s shopper’s paradise! No wonder these people are in debt. It’s so easy to shop shop shop and it feels so good to come home with shiny colourful bags from different stores and open them to find cute things!

I know what you’re thinking. That last paragraph was just my pathetic attempt to try to justify my addiction. You’re right. It was! There is no excuse for shopping addiction! Please, please, save me before i turn into an idiot screwball like this chick!

Oh. I just remembered. The third reason i’ve become a shopping addict is my apartment here has a walk in closet. Yes! I can close my door, stand in my closet, and just… savour it. Ahh … life is good.

1 Comment »

  1. I only read the first line of your blog post so far, but yah!! Season 4 and 5 are so good… I watched it tons of times too….

    Comment by picnic buddy — July 2, 2008 @ 8:24 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

