Atta Ikede

October 31, 2008

War on Corn Syrup

Filed under: Uncategorized — attaikede @ 8:54 am

I have declared war on corn syrup! High fructose corn syrup, to be specific.

Don’t worry, I’m not becoming one of those annoying health food eaters, but seriously, corn syrup is everywhere in the states. These people don’t seem to use sugar! It’s in bread, yogurt and lots of prepared foods like cookies. Even major pop brands such as coke are mixed with corn syrup here instead of sugar. People here get excited about mexican coke because it’s made with real sugar. I have a friend who works at a startup, and one of the perks at her office is that they order in mexican coke! Hahaha! The second reason for my war on corn syrup is that it just seems pretty wasteful to turn corn into a sugar substitute. There’s a food crisis going on in some countries! Those people could actually be eating the corn! Just at a common sense level, doesn’t it sound fishy that we’re turning corn into sugar? Why don’t we use sugar as sugar, or just use less sugar? Even worse, we’re also turning corn into plastic! The office here buys corn-based biodegradable disposable cups.

My war has been going on for a couple of months now. I haven’t cut out corn syrup entirely yet, and I doubt I can entirely cuz I’m sure restaurants are using it and I can’t see myself giving up the occasional can of coke, but we’ll see. I’m sure I’ll get health benefits from at least greatly reducing my intake of the stuff.

I’ve found that it’s pretty hard to avoid corn syrup. Certainly, my quest to avoid it means that i’m having to cut out a lot of normal brands and products from my purchasing range. I’m trying my best to avoid venturing into the territory of weird organic brands though, cuz many of those products taste kind of gross and it ends up being a waste of money.

For example, I bought a strange brand of graham crackers at Whole Foods because I needed them for a pumpkin pie crust, but the cookies were so tasteless that the crust ended up tasting pretty gross. I still have half a package left and I’m wondering what to do with it…

The fun things about avoiding corn syrup have been that I’m buying a larger variety of foods and discovering delicious food in unlikely places! Did you know that Ikea has several kinds of corn-syrup free cookies? They’re delicious! mm .. i bought hazelnut filled and fruit filled cookies. Yum! They’re made in Europe somewhere. I also started trying out various bakeries. The safeway bakery is a decent bet, though it’s hard to buy things the day they were baked. Overall, Safeway here is definitely not as good as loblaws. (I miss Loblaws … ) Anyway, the supermarkets here do sell mini baguettes and things, so if I buy a small size I’ve found I can finish it before it goes bad. I’ve also tried a few chinese bakeries. I was hesitant at first, but I gave it a try. Those chinese bakeries only seem to carry white bread, but it’s super soft and makes the best toast! So crunchy! I don’t know what ingredients the chinese bakeries use, but their bread does go bad within a few days so I’m willing to bet that it’s natural-ish.

Yup, so overall, I definitely think this is a war I can win. My main concern is to make sure that buying odd brands and healthy products doesn’t greatly increase my food expense, but so far that hasn’t happened. I have Chinatown on my side! Good old Chinatown .. always the place for deals!

1 Comment »

  1. Excellent, excellent idea. I hope that you win this war, because you are right, it is something that you have complete control over. I wish you good luck!

    Comment by Kentucky Bakery Owner — October 31, 2008 @ 12:24 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

