Atta Ikede

December 24, 2008

Atta’s manga/anime favs

Filed under: Uncategorized — attaikede @ 11:29 am

If you have no clue on manga/anime then this post will not be interesting for you.

Naruto – of course – I stopped watching the newer episodes a few months ago though. When it was good, it was the best! It’s just too slow now and the moves are all predictable.  I highly recommend the early arcs up until the battle with Sasuke under the waterfall. After that it gets into fillers and lame stuff. I dont recommend any of the movies. I only watched half of one and it was lame.

Bleach – got into because web research indicated people who like Naruto also like Bleach – the first few arcs were really good and naruto-esque but now it’s also getting lame. I recommend the early arcs until he rescues Rukia and they come home. Those are pretty good. After that it’s pretty repetitive.

Darker Than Black – Probably my fav. Definitely my fav. Very slick animation too. One of the episodes in this anime made me want to eat cabbage. It’s that good.

Nana – A friend of mine who was in Japan when I told her about my Naruto discovery told me that Nana was more appropriate for females my age (Naruto is about a 12 year old ninja and is considered a boys manga) and that a Nana craze was sweeping east asia. Her statement was confirmed when I was talking to a classmate from HK about Nana a few months later and he said his sister in HK watched Nana too. This cracked me up. I was part of a craze sweeping east asia. lol. Decent story overall.

Noir – about 2 female assasins – has a different animation style than the others. The plot was repetitive and not surprising but I found the watercolour-ey animation so beautiful I kept watching. The soundtrack is also quite hypnotizing.  Turned out to be another one of my favs. A sleeper hit, if you will.

Cowboy Bebop – watched on my brother’s recommendation. The whole space plot seemed really lame to me but my brother makes good recommendations so I persisted. You definitely have to overlook the typical corny anima/manga issues of skimpily dressed females and ridiculous characters, but ultimately it’s a very, very good show.

5 Centimeters per Second – film I watched when I was sick and on codeine this past summer. Feeling like  Soprano reruns were a little too dark, I googled for “top anime of 2007” and several clicks later found this one.  Incredibly slow moving but insanely beautiful in terms of visuals. It’s almost heartbreaking.. I felt a little out of it the whole time I was watching it, so I didn’t think I was paying attention, but guess I was because at the end I had this crushing feeling of “i’m going to die alone. Everybody dies alone.”

Studio Ghibli movies – my favourites are Grave of the Fireflies (unforgettable) and Whisper of the Heart.

and most recently …

Fruits Basket – Bored on a rainy/haily Sunday, I went back to the “best anime of 2007” googling from earlier this summer and stumbled on this. This manga is the girl version of Naruto in the sense that it’s one of the most popular titles in its genre. This was the first one where I read a fair bit of the manga before starting with the anime. The manga is amazingly good! The anime is decent, but the manga… ah. Totally worth a read.

3 Comments »

  1. you should also check out samurai champloo. it’s about a girl who goes on an odyssey across japan with 2 samurai to find her missing father. i think it is loosely based on what japan used to be like back in the old days.

    Comment by el_rodento — December 25, 2008 @ 5:35 pm

  2. I’d recommend the Death Note manga as well.

    Comment by Will — January 5, 2009 @ 3:08 pm

  3. Good tips guys!

    Comment by attaikede — January 8, 2009 @ 7:09 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

