Atta Ikede

April 3, 2009

1 year! (um, plus 6 weeks)

Filed under: Uncategorized — attaikede @ 7:29 am

I’ve been here for more than a year.

I really like it here! My TN status got renewed for another 3 years and I can see myself living here happily for 3 more years. After that, who knows.

I’ve been to a lot of different places in the states, and therefore I feel confident advising you that California is definitely the best state to live in. Yes, the state is horribly managed, the jails are apparently exploding with criminals and the taxes are really high, but I’ve now dismissed those as minor issues. And out of all the cities in California, San Francisco has unique appeal. The ocean. The weather. The palm trees. The sunshine. The vegans. And the unique environment created when one 7 mile square city is full of crazy hills and all kinds of characters.  Somehow, this all creates a happy little town!

That being said, I do miss Toronto as a city. It’s a lot bigger than San Francisco, and more dynamic too.  More delicious foods, WAY more multi-cultural, and just more grown up. A lot of the interesting stuff that happens in San Francisco appeals to a juvenile and regressionistic streak in people. Public Pillow fights. Snuggie Parties where people get awards for the “sluttiest” snuggy (scary). A 7 mile trek which people enjoy in the drunken nude or in costumes. In fact, a lot of stuff here involves costumes and highly extraverted public camaraderie. I don’t really understand the appeal of some of those social events, possibly because I don’t like costumes and I don’t like public camaraderie. Haha.

The rabbit wrote about how she feels like despite living down under for a year, she’s very conscious that it’s not home. I totally understand that. I love it here, but this place definitely isn’t my home. I’m not sure how happy I’d be if I didn’t have my dad’s phone calls, PB’s emails and Sylvia’s visits. But luckily I do have those things, so I don’t have to worry about that scenario :)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

