Atta Ikede

May 9, 2010

There’s a Pittsburgh bar down the street.

Filed under: Uncategorized — attaikede @ 8:51 am

I went on a family vacation to Salt Lake City / Park City in Utah last week. It was really beautiful there and our trip was very relaxing – we spent 4 days doing a bit of sightseeing and a lot of poker playing and hockey watching. We wanted to watch San Jose vs Red Wings, but they also showed Habs vs Pens so we watched those too.

My brother and I were rooting for the Wings and the Habs, though I did get a little obsessed with Joe Pavelski after he scored 2 goals in a row for the 3rd straight game. At least in those couple games I saw, that guy was taking credible shots every time his stick touched the puck! It was unbelievable. I’m now also obsessed with Halak. He’s my new hero. I mean yes, Pittsburgh has a great goalie, but Wikipedia tells me their goalie was drafted first in the NHL the year he started. Obviously you expect results there. Halak? Dude was 271st! My brother had the best analogy – he reminds us of Goran, a wildcard who came out of nowhere to win Wimbledon.

Anyway, there was another Habs vs Pens game yesterday, and I decided to walk by a sports bar in my area as the game was starting. I’ve walked by that bar several times – it’s on Columbus near Vallejo, so I walk by there at least twice a day – on my way to work and back. I’ve noticed that it’s a hockey bar, and often pause on the sidewalk to watch little snippets of whatever game’s playing. Most sports bars around here only show baseball, football and basketball. Same in LA, at least to the places I’ve been. Some bars will have hockey playing in the tiny CRT TV in the corner but have other sports on the huge TVs.  If you want to go out and watch hockey, you have to go to a place you know will show it. Since I was kind of bored yesterday afternoon, I figured I’d go check out the scene there on my way to chinatown for grocieries.

So all this time, I thought that hockey bar on Columbus was just that – a hockey bar. Well guess what. I walked in yesterday afternoon and asked a guy sitting alone whether I could grab a seat. He said yes. Then I looked around. The place is a hardcore PITTSBURGH BAR!!!!

First of all:

1. I’m amazed to find out pittsburgh is the kind of place whose native sons would actually go out and set up hometown bars in other cities. Pittsburgh!? It’s an industrial town! Can you imagine finding a Hamilton bar in BC? A Kitchener bar in Newfoundland? No.

2. they had a multicultural staff! and their staff were all hardcore pittsburgh fans! Yes!

3. Beers were fairly priced, the bathroom was clean, and the TV placement was really optimized.

It’s a great bar! Obviously they cheered like crazy when the pens scored and most of them were wearing pittsburgh clothes. lol. I’m not sure I’d ever be fan enough to wear a giant hockey playing cartoon penguin on my chest.

Note – It seems fine to stop by sports bars alone during the day, but don’t worry, I’d never do it in the evening. Also, it’s not something I’d do often. Strickly a once every 2 years thing.

2 Comments »

  1. wow, sounds like a great place to pin on the map! I should definely check it out next time! they must have sid’s picture on the wall too eh?

    Comment by picnic buddy — May 9, 2010 @ 8:56 pm

  2. Hehe, no, not that I noticed. They had plenty of Pittsburgh Steelers stuff actually. that’s the football team there, I guess. They also have a baseball team but they suck bigtime.

    Comment by Panda — May 10, 2010 @ 4:57 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

